Lodestone Namibia


Surface Area 824,292 sq km (318,261 sq miles).
Population 2.25 million (UN estimate 2012).
Population Density 2.43 per sq km. Capital City Windhoek.
Economy Statistics GDP US$13.11 billion (World Bank est. 2013)
Main exports Minerals, beef, cattle and fish
Main imports Foodstuffs, construction material and manufactured goods
Main trading partners South Africa, United Kingdom, Angola, and China

Namibia is situated on Africa’s south-western seaboard. Its neighbouring countries are Angola to the north, Botswana and Zimbabwe to the east and South Africa to the south. The country is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean in the west.

Namibia covers 824 268 square kilometres (approximately four times the land mass of the UK, two thirds the size of South Africa and twice the size of California) and is divided into 13 regions as determined by the delimitation commission. Namibia is the second least densely populated sovereign nation in the world (second only to Mongolia).

Following independence the country was divided into 13 regions as determined by the Delimitation Commission and proclaimed in March 1992. These are Omusati, Oshana, Ohangwena and Oshikoto in the north, Kunene in the North West, Kavango and Caprivi in the north east, Erongo, Otjozondojupa, Omaheke, Khomas and Hardap in the central part of the country and Karas in the south.

English is the official language, while Oshiwambo, Afrikaans, Herero, KhoeKhoegowab, German, Lozi, Rukwangali, Tswana and various San languages are also spoken.

System of Government
Multi-party democracy with checks and balances exercised through the state organs of the executive, legislative and judiciary. General, presidential, regional and local elections are held every five years.

Time zones
Namibia falls in the GMT + 2 time zone. The country switches to a different time zone during the winter months: winter time is set at GMT + 1 and runs from the first Sunday in April to the last Saturday in August.

In September 1993 Namibia introduced its own currency, the Namibian dollar (N$). It is linked to and on par with the South African rand (ZAR), which is also legal tender in Namibia. Most major foreign currencies and traveller’s cheques can be exchanged and international credit cards are generally accepted as a method of payment.

Windhoek serves as the administrative, judicial and legislative capital of Namibia and has a population of approximately 365,000. The capital has a moderate climate and is situated in the central highlands of the country at 1 650 m above sea level. Windhoek gained municipal status in 1909 and was proclaimed a city in 1965. It boasts a well-developed infrastructure and is regarded as a clean and well-functioning metropolis.